Clearing word processor clutter so you can write that novel (#Atlantis)

Get Atlantis Word Processor – great for Nanowrimo

Whenever I spend more than an hour tracking down some trivial bit of knowledge, I re-post it. As a writer, I’m constantly hacking away at the visual pile of refuse that computer programmers keep piling onto my software interface. 97% of the features in Microsoft Word are not needed by writers, and generally retard writing like piles of old leaves blocking one’s escape tunnel from writers’ block.

Instead, I like to see a blank black screen with large white or gray letters, and NO MENUS. Sans distraction, words flow at the rate ketchup drips out of a bottle, and this is a bit faster than I see with a cluttered menu-heavy wordprocessor. To get a writer-friendly minimalist interface, I strongly endorse Atlantis Word Processor:


The default settings are not ideal for a writer, but you can tweak it. Here’s how:

First thing after you install Atlantis – go to Tools-Options-Colors and change the background to black and text to a light color. Then, turn off the annoying sound scheme and press F9. Viola! You’re got a full screen wordprocessor that can go 97% of what Word does with screaming-fast finger responsiveness. Atlantis will load any version of MS Word (including docx!), but will only save RTF unless you buy the full version for a mere $20. Latest version requires you to specify that all menus should disappear under Tools-Options-View when you press F9. I’ve written several novels and my PhD thesis largely using Atlantis.

Be sure to change the default settings — black on white, big letters.


[Atlantis in big-letter full screen writers mode. Viola! Just a bunch of white words on black text that you can save in any format!]

It also has a flash-disk U3 version that let you take your wordprocessor with you. Considering Atlantis Word Processor installs at under 5MB and Word 2007 requires a mere 250MB, I’d say it is a marvel of efficient programming at a bargain price. The only thing I still switch over to Word for is to do multi-user copy editing with tracked changes. But for a writer who just wants to get the words down without bloated crashy software, Atlantis is ideal. It’s a shame no one mentions Atlantis in google search any more. People are talking about other free software like Darkroom, Jdarkroom, and RoughDraft – that do hardly anything at all and yet fail to run as smooth as Atlantis. I want a blank screen, but I’m not willing to forgo compatibility with Word 95/97/2003/2007 for it. Luckily I don’t have to.

I prefer to write my novels with my eyes closed, lying on my back, using a laptop. So Atlantis is really perfect for that. Free yourself to start free writing.

For organizing your novel into a story board, I recommend TrelloTrello for Nanowrimo Storyboards

Others recommend: 10 Free Minimalist Word Processors for Greater Productivity

See Also: The BEST  Nanowrimo pep talks

3 thoughts on “Clearing word processor clutter so you can write that novel (#Atlantis)

  1. Great work! That is the type of info that are supposed to be shared around the net.
    Disgrace on the search engines for now not positioning
    this publish higher! Come on over and seek advice from my website
    . Thanks =)

Leave a Reply

